Submit Your Music Videos To The Independent Music Awards To Reach Millions Of Fans & Industry

Tom Waits, Aimee Mann, Zooey Deschanel, M. Ward, Mark Hoppus and Pete Wentz Join The 9th Annual Independent Music Awards Judging Panel

The airwaves and Internet are cluttered with killer songs and great visuals, so how do artists get seen and heard above the noise? For the past 9 years independent artists and labels from around the world have found new fans and prominence through The Independent Music Awards, currently accepting submissions at

Adding to a broad spectrum of awards in more than 50 music genre and design categories, The 9th IMA program will augment its established Music Video category with awards for Long Form Music Video to support achievements for presentations that feature more than one song.

Past IMA music video winners and nominees include both signed and unsigned artists including:
Val Emmich (“The Only One Lonely”), Leerone (“Care For Some Whiskey?”) from
South Africa, The Parlotones, Barcelona’s The Pinker Tones (“Karma Hunters”), Skitchy (Tiny Little Freaks) from the UK, Korean artist, Jihae (“Black Pearl); inde label acts include Epitaph’s The Matches (“Yankee in a Chip Shop”) and Astonish Records’ No More Kings (“Sweep the Leg”).

A complete list of award categories is available at

The IMAs support the meritocracy of talent; submissions are evaluated purely on artistic merit by influential artist and industry judging panel. The stellar list includes the celebrated husband and wife songwriting team of Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan; Fall Out Boy bassist and Decaydance Records founder,Pete Wentz; the Grammy, Golden Globe and Oscar-winning indie pioneer, Aimee Mann; the dynamic duo, Zooey Deschanel & M Ward (She & Him); Grammy -winning country artist, Ricky Skaggs; Blink 182 founding member, Mark Hoppus and MTV Music Supervisor, Carrie Hughes are among the impressive line-up of IMA judges.

A complete list of 9th IMA judges is available at:

Artistry Has Its Awards

Earning an Independent Music Award is more than just a badge of distinction. The IMAs is a unique international program that actively promotes winners and nominees to more than 50 million music fans and industry gatekeepers including programmers, talent buyers, music supervisors, print, online and broadcast media.

Created by Music Resource Group, publisher of the popular industry contact database The Musician’s Atlas and co-sponsored by online retailers, eMusic & PureVolume, digital network; media promotion companies The Planetary Group & HIP Video Promo among others, The IMAs uses its unrivaled access to performance, promotion & distribution opportunities to place winners & nominees in front of millions of music fans.

That’s why artists previously on major labels as well as notable indie label and self-released talent submit in more than 50 music genre & design categories including Social Action Song, Cover Song, Love Song, Concept Album, Live Album, Eclectic Album, Merch, Packaging, Gig Poster and Music Video.

Past winners and nominees include: Jeff Healey, Martin Sexton, Jamie Lidell, Denque Fever, The Cute Lepers, Girl In A Coma, The Trews, Joan As Police Woman, Koko Taylor, Miquel Migs, The Apples In Stereo, Speech, God Forbid, Lacuna Coil, Chris Whitley, Ike Turner, Hoots & Hellmouth, Marco Benevento and Animate Objects.

Uniting Fans and Bands

Regarded as the awards program for independent bands and fans, The Independent Music Awards features several program elements that shorten the distance between bands and new audiences.

In addition to judge-determined winners, The IMAs also opens the voting up to music fans. Each year, thousands of fans from around the globe have discovered new artists and cast their vote at the IMA Vox Pop Jukebox. The winners of the ‘people’s voice’ poll receive additional IMA marketing support.

Additionally the IMA Winner’s CD compilation, “Now Hear This” is promoted to millions of music consumers at sites like eMusic and PureVolume.

The deadline for submissions is August 21, 2009; winners and nominees will be promoted throughout 2010.

Details and entry forms are available at:

Connect with The Independent Music Awards:

Twitter: @IMAbuzz

For more information contact:
Joelle Caputa [[email protected]com] 973-767-1816 or
Lauren Veteri [[email protected]