Tom Waits Launches First Official Web Site And Previews New Album, Glitter and Doom Live

Tom Waits Launches First Official Web Site And Previews New Album, Glitter and Doom Live


Anti-Records will release Glitter and Doom Live, a two-disc collection of the best of the best tracks from Tom Waits’ sold out, highly acclaimed, “Glitter and Doom” tour on November 24th. The 17 tracks were recorded during Waits’ sold-tour through the US and Europe during the summer of 2008. Included are versions of “Get Behind the Mule” and a reinvention of “Singapore,” both of which are available for preview now at the newly launched, along with eight other tracks.

The CD and LP editions include a bonus 35 minute disc, “Tom Tales,” which compiles between-song banter from various tour stops into a continuous monologue, and chronicles for the first time one of fans’ favorite parts of a Waits’ performance.

Disc One is designed to sound like one evening’s performance, even though the tracks are selected from 10 cities, including Paris, Birmingham, Tulsa, Milan, Atlanta and Dublin.

Disc Two, called “Tom Tales,” includes the comic bromides, strange musings, and unusual facts that Tom traditionally shares with his audience during the piano set. Waits’ topics range from the ritual of insects to the last dying breath of Henry Ford.

The first disc covers all eras of Waits’ eclectic catalog as he shifts seamlessly from an array of characters: carnival barker, preacher, country singer, soul balladeer; cabaret singer and storyteller. Backed by a versatile 5 piece band, Waits departs from the songs’ original incarnations. The songs’ instrumentation and rhythms are rearranged and re-imagined into a stew of swampy tribal rhythms, ominous hymns, gypsy flavored ballads, searing rhythmic R&B and Blues boogies. The songs, as expected, are about hanged men, woebegone sailors, sword swallowers, fugitives, shamans, ghosts, dance instructors and prison guards.

Pre-orders are being taken at

Track List:
01. Lucinda / Ain’t Goin Down
02. Singapore
03. Get Behind The Mule
04. Fannin Street
05. Dirt In The Ground
06. Such A Scream
07. Live Circus
08. Goin’ Out West
09. Falling Down
10. The Part You Throw Away
11. Trampled Rose
12. Metropolitan Glide
13. I’ll Shoot The Moon
14. Green Grass
15. Make It Rain
16. Story
17. Lucky Day

Here’s a sneak peak: