The 14th Annual<br>Independent Music Awards<br>Vox Pop Winners Announced


Fan Favorites Differ From Judges By 80%

Megan Slankard, We Were Superheroes, Brad Lee Schroeder, Jazzation & Celso Salim Band Are Among The 14th IMA Vox Pop Winners

February 24, 2016 – The Independent Music Awards (The IMAs) today announced the results of The IMAs 14th annual Vox Pop poll, the fan-determined component of the prestigious international program for independent artists and releases. Vox Pop voting began in March, when The 14th IMA Nominees were announced, enabling music fans around the world to discover and support more than 400 nominated self-released & indie label Music, Video, and Visual Arts projects.

This year’s ‘Voice of the People’ favorites differed from the judge determined winners  by a margin of more than 80%.  Fan favorites including Megan Slankard, We Were Superheroes, Brad Lee Schroeder, Jazzation, and Celso Salim Band are among this year’s Vox Pop artists not selected by the Artist and Industry judging panelists which included Amanda Palmer, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Lila Downs, Chris & Oliver Wood (The Wood Brothers), Lunice, Jane Monheit, Suzanne Vega, Meshell Ndegeocello, Melissa Auf der Maur, Sharon Jones, Shelby Lynn, Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone Magazine), Terry McBride (Nettwerk Records) and Jason Olaine (Jazz At Lincoln Center) among many others.

To date, nearly 500,000 fans have championed their favorite established artists and rising stars in The IMAs Vox Pop poll.

Click Here for the complete list of IMA 14 Vox Pop Winners Click Here to view all Nominated projects

“What makes a work of art a winner? It’s simple – someone has to love it,” said Martin Folkman, Executive Director of The Independent Music Awards. “The discrepancy between Judge selected winners and fan favorites illustrates that not only is art subjective – but how critical fan support is to any artist’s success.  The Independent Music Awards program is not about winners and losers. It exists to help exceptional independent artists and releases find new supporters – both in the industry and among music consumers. This way everyone wins. And why new features added to The 15th IMAs will help Artists connect with fans from the moment they enter their new projects,” Folkman said.

Artistry Has Its Awards
Now in its 15th year, The influential Independent Music Awards connects top-ranked self-released and indie label artists and releases to new performance, promotion and distribution opportunities. The IMA’s active support place winners and nominees in front of millions of industry decision makers and music consumers around the world.

Album, Song, EP, Producer, Video & Design submissions for The 15th Annual IMAs are now being accepted at
Winners of The 15th Independent Music Awards will be announced from the stage at The IMAs first day-long live gala from Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in New York City on November 12, 2016.

14th Independent Music Awards Vox Pop Winners

Album CategoriesVox Pop WinnersVox Pop Winning Albums
Adult ContemporaryKJ DenhertDestiny
Alt. CountryMarta PacekVoodoo Dolls & False Alarms
AmericanaThe AmigosDiner In The Sky
BluegrassDavid NaiditchBluegrass in the Backwoods
BluesCelso Salim BandTo the End of Time
Children's MusicEmmyDragon Dreams
CompilationDave Van RonkDown In Washington Square: The Smithsonian Folkways Collection
ConceptWill PostPanthenon
Contemporary Christian/GospelAaron R. SmithCity That You Love
Contemporary ClassicalChristopher TinThe Drop That Contained the Sea
CountryThe JackstonesWhat Brings You Here
Dance/ElectronicaWorm Is GreenTo Them We Are Only Shadows
EclecticBombay RickeyCinefonia
Folk/Singer-SongwriterElizabeth & The CatapultLike It Never Happened
Funk/Fusion/JamJoan Torres's All is FusedThe Beginning
Indie/Alt. RockSecret SunCold Coast
Instrumental (mainly)Sudar Percussion & Matej MestrovicEat Suite
Jazz Instrumental (mainly)Oran EtkinGathering Light
Jazz With VocalsYaniel MatosLa Miranda
LatinSó AlegriaSó Alegria (feat. Celsinho Silva, Luis Barcelos, Eduardo Neves, and Rogério Caetano)
Live PerformanceSteve Newman, Lee Thomson & Ashish JoshiLive at the Mahogany Room
Metal/HardcoreErlang KovataShattered
New AgeRicky Kej & Wouter KellermanWinds of Samsara
PopEight TwoExhibition
R&B/SoulVoodoo PrincessShaken Not Stirred
Rap/Hip-HopRadio RadioEj feel zoo
ReissueUtah PhillipsStarlight on the Rails: A Songbook
Rock/Hard RockBlack Map...And We Explode
Spoken WordBobby DrakeHands Down
Tribute AlbumPascuala Ilabaca y FaunaMe Saco El Sombrero
World BeatMélisande [électrotrad]Les métamorphoses
World TraditionalMoustafa Kouyaté & Romain MalagnouxLes Frontières imaginaires
Song CategoriesVox Pop WinnersVox Pop Winning Songs
A CappellaJazzation"Beautiful Love"
AcousticMax Ater"Ready, Willing and Waiting"
Adult ContemporaryCeleste Buckingham"I'm Not Sorry"
Alt. CountryMayfield"When I Last Saw You"
AmericanaThe Amigos"More Than Friends"
BluegrassRUNA"Ain't No Grave"
BluesKJ Denhert"Sorry"
Children's MusicMegan Slankard"Rhymes with Christopher"
Contemporary Christian/GospelJ. Nichole"Blessing Me"
CountryBrad Lee Schroeder"Run Devil Run"
Cover SongKate & Joe BB"Alabama Song" - (orig. by Lotte Lenya)
Dance/ElectronicaDrew DeWitt"Why Would I"
EclecticMelanchloé"Angels & Insects"
Folk/Singer-SongwriterElizabeth & The Catapult"Someday Soon"
Funk/Fusion/JamPlunky & Oneness"Never Too Late"
HolidayKatie Hardyman"Snowflake (feat. Laura Zarb)"
Indie/Alt. RockPatrick Joseph"Better Off Alone"
InstrumentalA Presença das Formigas"Planície"
Jazz InstrumentalThe Bill McBirnie Trio"Find Your Place"
Jazz With VocalsCelso Salim Band"Leave It to the Moon"
LatinOrquesta Narvaez"Vamos A Gozar "
LoveDestani Wolf"Your Love for Me"
Metal/HardcoreValence"The Reckoning"
New AgeTony Chen"Recognizing the Beloved One"
PopCarissa Vales"City Lights"
R&B/SoulCharlie Oxford"Drive Me Crazy"
Rap/Hip-HopUndeniable"Blue B.A.C.O.N"
Rock/Hard RockWe Were Superheroes"Pub Love"
Social ActionTom Neilson"It's a Crime"
Spoken WordPlunky & Oneness"Space Jungle Love"
Story SongMegan Slankard"825"
World BeatAmy Lee"Dark Water (feat. Malika Zarra)"
World TraditionalRUNA"The False Knight Upon the Road"
EP CategoriesVox Pop WinnersVox Pop Winning EPs
Dance/ElectronicaJP LantieriLondon Calling
InstrumentalAshot DanielyanMountain Prayer
JazzNeisy WilsonInside My Soul
PopSeasick MamaTip Top Shape
RockCedar BoulevardCedar Boulevard
Roots/CountryAntigone RisingWhiskey & Wine Vol 1
UrbanBrinae AliDestination Forever: Volume 1
Music Producer CategoryVox Pop WinnerVox Pop Winning Work
Music ProducerPatrick JosephPatrick Joseph - Moon King
Design CategoriesVox Pop Winning DesignersVox Pop Winning Work
Album Art / PhotographyEleanor Crane"Patrick Joseph - Moon King"
Album PackagingPei-Shih Wu, TotalBrand+TotalDesign Co."Dream Lotus Symphony Orchestra & Dream Lotus Insightful Praises Choir - Prajna: The Great Wisdom"
Artist Concert PhotographyDoug Seymour / Doug Seymour Photography"Cage The Elephant"
Artist Publicity PhotographyDoug Seymour / Doug Seymour Photography"The Stray Birds - Best Medicine CD / LP front cover photo"
Music Promo PosterDoug Seymour / Doug Seymour Photography"Brett Gleason"
Music WebsiteElectric
SwagSarah Gensert (Design), Dino Cattaneo (Concept), Bohemian Guitars (Production)"Susan Cattaneo - Haunted Heart Oil Can Guitar"
Video CategoriesVox Pop WinnersVox Pop Winning Videos
Long FormSudar Percussion & Matej MestrovicCastle Crash
Short FormBombadil"Born At 5:00"